The Latest: Sarkisian’s first call is a pass

TAMPA, Fla. (AP) — The Newest on the School Soccer Playoff nationwide title recreation (all occasions native):


eight:35 p.m.

It’s recreation time.

Clemson gained the toss and deferred, kicking to Alabama to start out the title recreation — with Steve Spurrier, who isn’t precisely revered by both fan base, getting booed when he took half within the festivities.

And the primary play referred to as by new Alabama offensive coordinator Steve Sarkisian was a move, which was batted down.

Former Tide coordinator Lane Kiffin referred to as passes on the primary play of every of the final 10 video games of his Alabama profession.

7:20 p.m.

The expertise edge within the quarterback matchup for this School Soccer Playoff nationwide championship recreation between Alabama and Clemson overwhelmingly favors the Tigers’ Deshaun Watson.

Alabama’s Jalen Hurts shouldn’t be deterred.

Of the final seven quarterbacks to steer their staff to a nationwide championship, six did so of their first season as a full-fledged starter. Greg McElroy did it for Alabama in 2009, Cam Newton for Auburn in 2010, A.J. McCarron for Alabama in 2011, Jameis Winston for Florida State in 2013, J.T. Barrett for Ohio State in 2014 and Jake Coker for Alabama final season.

The one yr in that stretch the place a primary-timer didn’t win the title was 2012 — when McCarron helped the Crimson Tide win again-to-again titles.

Then once more, it bears noting that none of these different first-timers have been precisely in Hurts’ place. He’s trying to turn out to be the primary true freshman beginning quarterback to win a nationwide title since Jamelle Holieway for Oklahoma in 1985.


7 p.m.

Clemson coach Dabo Swinney performed for a group that gained an AP nationwide championship in 1992, when he was a receiver for Alabama.

He’s now obtained one other probability to teach a workforce that might win the AP crown.

Solely Bud Wilkinson — a participant on the Minnesota workforce in 1936 and a coach of three title groups at Oklahoma within the Nineteen Fifties — has the excellence of each enjoying and training a staff that completed a season as AP nationwide champions.

Swinney, whose Tigers have a School Soccer Playoff nationwide title rematch towards Alabama on Monday night time, could possibly be the second.

There are different coaches who helped their faculties win nationwide championships as a participant after which captured crowns as coaches — Bear Bryant, Jimmy Johnson and Frank Leahy amongst them — however both the AP ballot had not began or their title was not acknowledged by the AP.


6:35 p.m.

Alabama coach Nick Saban doesn’t all the time win…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *